Cancer, With a Twist, Funny, Sarcastic

Cancer, With a Twist (One Cancer Survivor’s Story of Humor, Hope and a Hint of Sarcasm) Chapter 4: Here’s Your Cancer Medal, Ma’am.

Here’s a newsflash, they don’t give you a medal for going through childbirth without any drugs and they don’t give you a medal when you finish chemo, or any type of cancer treatment. (I didn’t have to go through radiation or surgery but from what I hear you don’t get medals for that either!) Can you believe that? It doesn’t seem right does it? There are no medals for “being brave.” What does that mean anyway? When you’re literally faced with dying (or some other equally as frightening diagnosis), you’re allowed to be scared a little shitless, it’s OKAY. If you’re currently going through cancer treatment or you know someone who is, here’s one of the best pieces of advice that I can give. Take your anti-nausea medications!

I used to be one of those people who would always say “I don’t like to take medicine” and now I realize how dumb that sounds because honestly, who does like to take medicine? Oh yeah, everyone’s lining up to say I don’t want to be healthy, so give me lots of different medications that will give me lots of different side effects. Then I’ll have to take other medications in order to combat the side effects of the medications that are supposed to be helping me! When I went through treatment one of the nurses told me that in addition to having more anti-nausea drugs than they did even five to ten years ago, they also work so much better than they used to. Thank you research and technology!

But there are still people who don’t want to take them and I can understand that…to an extent. You feel like your body already has so much crap running through it that you don’t want to add anymore crap to the mix. But if the medication or medications you have to take have the potential to make you sick, then why not take something that can help combat that feeling? Cancer treatment is bad enough without having to feel worse than you already do. Hell, if the anti-nausea medications I had didn’t work as well as they did, I would have been puffing up a storm. You know what I mean.

All joking aside, I don’t understand how medical marijuana isn’t legal everywhere. It’s no worse than any of the other prescription drugs that we take. And let’s talk about alcohol, it’s a dangerous drug that’s LEGAL and the commercials make it seem like if you’re not drinking you’re a loser. AND unlike most alcohol (I know red wine can be good for your heart), marijuana actually has medicinal purposes! If you don’t know much about it, read up on it and see just how many conditions and diseases medicinal marijuana can help.

I’m not condoning drug use, I just get really frustrated when I hear about people who aren’t able to find symptom relief from traditional medications but they’re not allowed to try medicinal marijuana because it’s illegal. Here’s another cliché, but once again, it’s true, you don’t realize how lucky you are to be healthy until you’re so sick that you can’t remember what being healthy feels like anymore. So if I can fight for people who need whatever medication will help them, then that’s what I’m going to do. Okay, I’m putting my soapbox away…for now (wink).

I think if the politicians who block medical marijuana had to go through one chemo treatment the laws would be changed quickly. I don’t know how I would have been able to function without my anti-nausea meds. Chemo has so many side effects besides the nausea, so if you can take something that will ease one of your symptoms do yourself a favor and take it. Taking your anti-nausea meds will make a miserable experience a little bit easier. And take them religiously when you’re supposed to. I made myself a chart of what to take, what time, day, etc. It will make your life much easier.

While I was going through chemo my pocketbook looked like a pharmacy. I had my anti-nausea meds just in case I felt like I was going to toss my cookies, then I had Tums and Zantac to deal with the indigestion and reflux caused by the chemo itself and the other medications I was taking. But remember, not everyone has the same side effects, some people have very minimal side effects and that could be you. Definitely think positive and don’t stress about what side effects you may or may not get. But if you do experience them, take the medications that will help if you need them. In the meantime I’ll work on seeing how we can get those medals.

  • Jenn G.D.
Leave a Reply

